Email Validation

Technique for Validating Emails

I have written a simple commandline tool for generating a contacts list CSV file to be used in email validation. The intent is to assist spear phishing attack researchers with finding ways to validate contact info. Basic usage of Emaval is described in the following snippet.

$./emaval list --first=John --last=Doe --domain=gmail.com

A text file is generated by emaval containing the permutations of email addresses.

Name,E-mail
Vinnie-0,John@gmail.com
Vinnie-1,Doe@gmail.com
Vinnie-2,JohnDoe@gmail.com
Vinnie-3,John.Doe@gmail.com
Vinnie-4,JDoe@gmail.com
Vinnie-5,J.Doe@gmail.com
Vinnie-6,JohnD@gmail.com
Vinnie-7,John.D@gmail.com
Vinnie-8,JD@gmail.com
Vinnie-9,J.D@gmail.com
...

In the Google Contacts sidebar there is an import button in which you can add the newly created list. Contacts will tag the import with a date so that you can quickly find them all in the event that you are doing this with an account that already contains contacts.

Contacts

Add the Emaval generated CSV file and import it. There is an option to add other tags in addition to the automatically generated date tag.

Contacts

The valid contacts should have their avatars come up in the imported contacts list.

Contacts

The method definitely works on all contacts using Google products and I have also had luck with a few on non-Google addresses.